stillwe.blogg.se

Mac tablet pc convertible
Mac tablet pc convertible






  1. #Mac tablet pc convertible mac os
  2. #Mac tablet pc convertible full
  3. #Mac tablet pc convertible Pc
  4. #Mac tablet pc convertible windows 8

Lenovo ThinkPad Twist Lenovo ThinkPad Twistįortunately, if you can't wait, the Lenovo ThinkPad Twist gives its sibling convertible some serious competition. Shipping is still more than 4 weeks off, according to the Lenovo web site. If you want a convertible laptop, this seems to be a standout. It currently sells for $1,099 for the i5 processor version, going up to $1,299 if you want an i7 processor and $1,449 to increase storage from 128GB to 256GB. But it has the same 13.3-inch screen as the Air and displays more on it (1600x900). At 3.4 pounds, there's the same drawback with the Dell, in that it's about a half-pound heavier than the MacBook Air. The Lenovo Yoga 13 would probably be my top pick if it were available right now. But the CNET review, I felt, was fairly disappointing, and I didn't like the idea that my screen would get locked to one angle. Priced $1,099 to $1,499, it's slightly more affordable than the Dell. As with the Duo, this is across a smaller physical screen of 11.6 inches than my Air has. It only has an i5 processor, but it offered more screen real estate (1920x1080). The Sony Vaio Duo was attractive as it's just a bit lighter than my MacBook Air, coming in, according to Sony, at 2.87 lbs. At a cost of $1,199 to $1,699, was there a better, lighter option? The CNET review wasn't bad, but it wasn't that great, either. But at 3.35 pounds, it came in almost a half-pound heavier than my MacBook Air. It offered more screen real estate (1920x1080) than my MacBook Air (though across a smaller screen, 12.5" vs 13.3"), and the base model's processor and solid-state hard drive both were upgradable to match. A screen that could rotate and close over the keyboard, in order to convert into a tablet, seemed to make a lot of sense. The Dell XPS 12 was the most appealing to me, at first. Here's my shortlist of convertibles I felt might do the job.

#Mac tablet pc convertible Pc

However, I knew there were other options beyond this, thanks to having previously read CNET's own Windows 8: The complete new PC launch list. Of the recommendations from the Windows site, only the Dell XPS 12 was left standing. Similarly, the HP Envy x2 ( review) and the Samsung Ativ Smart PC ( review) were both initially appealing to me until I realized they also had non-integrated keyboards. It's a pain to put on, and there's no easy flipping it away to shift into tablet mode. I've used that type of keyboard with my Asus Transformer Prime. Sure, it converts into a laptop, if you slide-on a separate keyboard. Next, I had to eliminate what I call the "connectables." The Asus VivoTab is a good example of this (shown below is the Window RT version ( review), similar to the Window 8 model).

#Mac tablet pc convertible full

That means I can't run the full range of Windows applications, as I ultimately want. I already have a Microsoft Surface, which is Windows RT. Step one from here was to eliminate some of the candidates that look appealing, like the Lenovo IdeaPad Yoga 11, because they are Windows RT. There's a similar area, and one I felt was more useful, within the Microsoft Store. Heading into the site, there's an entire area devoted to tablets and convertibles: My, how things have changed for the better! Right in the middle of a home page is a big invitation to "Explore new PCs" along with a picture of exactly what I'm after, a convertible laptop: Heck, I wrote an entire column bemoaning how bad it was.

mac tablet pc convertible

#Mac tablet pc convertible windows 8

My first stop in exploration was the Microsoft Windows site. When I was there before Windows 8 launched, I found it disappointing in failing to give much guidance. I want a device that shows me as much screen real estate (1440x900) as my current 13-inch MacBook Air does, that weighs just as little (2.96 pounds), and that has a fairly similar processor (Intel 1.8GHz i7), storage (256GB) and memory (4GB RAM). Instead, my chief purchasing criteria are display resolution and weight, followed by computing horsepower. While I shifted to using the Mac full-time a few months ago, I'm perfectly happy working in a Windows environment.

#Mac tablet pc convertible mac os

Could one of these be a replacement for my MacBook Air?įor me, it doesn't matter whether I use Mac OS or Windows. So when I first saw some of the Windows 8 convertibles recently, my eyes lit up. The MacBook Air gave me the same instant-on access to the Web that the iPad did. Soon after getting it, I abandoned taking an iPad around on trips. I wish there were times I could just use it like a tablet. They can be tablets! They can be laptops! I've wanted this type of device for ages, and I've been exploring the possibilities.Įver since I got a MacBook Air about two years ago, it's left me disappointed in one key area.

mac tablet pc convertible

One of the most exciting things about Windows 8 is the emergence of convertible laptops.








Mac tablet pc convertible